My First 5K!

If there’s one thing I know I enjoy more than any other form of exercise–it’s running. Running has been therapeutic for me in many instances and I look forward to using running as an outlet for stress as opposed to my former outlet–food. It started out being just for fun but I’d always wondered what it would be like to complete a 5K race.

About a year ago I made it a goal to run 2 miles straight. By summer, I made it a goal to run at least 3 miles straight. I eventually decided that a 5K race was plausible, but could never get myself to sign up for one. A few months ago I actually committed to a race day and tried to train for the 3 months leading up to the race. In that time I had so many assignments, errands, tennis matches (I was on my college tennis team for my last semester), etc. that I had very little training completed by the time I needed to sign up for the race. But I said to myself “You know what, at this rate I’ll never be ready. Just do it Tierra.” And that’s what I did. Two weeks before the race I signed up online and made it a point to run as often as I could. Two days before the race I hurt my knee and was recommended by a physician to not run for at least another week. But I HAD to commit to this race.

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 9.24.54 PM.png

It’s almost as if I needed to commit to this race or I’d never be able to commit to one in the future. On race day, it was thunder storming… the entire time. It was painful, I couldn’t see, I was out-of-breath, and most of all I was very very WET. But I did it! I placed 7th in my age group and finished at an average pace of 9:42. And in the midst of doing something for myself, I met many friendly racers that made me feel like I’d been accepted into the local running community 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-05-30 at 10.07.16 PM.png

Completing the race was exhilarating because it fueled my fire to continue to do more in the future. After the initial hurdle of completing a race, I look forward to making a habit out of this! That will start with another local 5k in my hometown that I’m signing up for tomorrow!! If you have any questions about how race specifics or just want to know more about how to prepare for a 5k please comment below!

One thought on “My First 5K!

Leave a Reply

